Sep. 20, 21

On behalf of The Explorers Club, I would like to extend a heartfelt congratulations to the crew of Inspiration4 – and the entire team at SpaceX – on their successful flight and safe touchdown this weekend.

All four crew members – Hayley Arceneaux, Christopher Sembroski, Sian Proctor, and Jared Isaacman – are Explorers Club Members, and Proctor was an honoree in our initial Explorers Club 50 this past year.

The crew of Inspiration4 carried Explorers Club Flag #218, furthering the long and storied tradition of human spaceflight at The Explorers Club.

This follows the successful flights of Club Members Mark & Jeff Bezos on Blue Origin’s New Shepherd, and Member Richard Branson aboard Virgin Galatic’s Unity earlier this year.

The flight of Inspiration4 also marks an important inflection point in the history of humanity’s venture into the stars. Before this point, the vast majority of all astronauts worked for nation states. From this point forward, the opposite is true – and the vast majority of humans in space will be regular citizens.

I am incredibly proud of the leadership role Club Members have taken to make this future a reality, and salute the crew of Inspiration4 for their place in history.

Ad Astra,

Richard Garriott
President, The Explorers Club