Oct. 19, 22

The time has come to nominate worthy explorers for our annual awards. We hope you’ll actively participate in the nomination process of honoring those who are supporting the Club’s mission through their exceptional contributions in the fields of exploration and scientific research.

The Flag and Honors Committee invites you to submit nominations for the following categories:



The Explorers Club Medal is awarded annually to a member or non-member for extraordinary contributions in the fields of exploration, scientific research, or to the welfare of humanity.

Previous recipients have included Lowell Thomas, PEX ‘28; Kathryn D. Sullivan, HON ‘81; Don Walsh, MED ‘61; James Cameron, MED ‘03; Walter H. Munk, MED ’71; Neil deGrasse Tyson, Ph.D.; Frederick Roots, O.C., Ph.D.; André Borschberg, MED ’13; Bertrand Piccard, M.D., MED ’00; Nainoa Thompson, MED ’15; Capt. Jim Lovell, MED ’66; Kenneth J. Lacovara Ph.D., MED ’03; Victor L. Vescovo, CDR USN (Ret.), MN ’18; Rick Ridgeway, FN ’85; and Dereck and Beverly Joubert, MED ’22.

Pictured: 2020, 2021, and 2022 Explorers Club Medalists Victor Vescovo, Beverly & Dereck Joubert, and Rick Ridgeway




The Edward C. Sweeney Medal is awarded annually to a Club member in recognition of distinguished service, scientific work and exploration. The nominee must have exhibited by word and action a profound interest in the welfare and principles of The Explorers Club. The candidate must have been a Club member in good standing for a minimum of five years.

Previous recipients have included Max Gallimore, MED ’82; Harry D. Brooks, MED ‘93; Julianne Chase, Ph.D., MED ’97; Bruce Blanchard, MED ’78; Constance Difede, MED ’01; Lee Langan, MED ’99; David A. Dolan, FN ’03; Milbry C. Polk, FR ’95; George W. Gowen Esq., MR ’96; Robert J. Atwater, LF ’05; and Marcelo A. Méndez, FR ’92.

Pictured: 2021 Sweeney Medalist Bob Atwater & 2022 Sweeney Medalist Marcelo Mendez




The Citation of Merit is awarded annually “in recognition of an outstanding feat of exploration or services rendered to the Club.”

Previous recipients include The 1963 American Mount Everest Team; Gilbert M. Grosvenor; The Apollo F-1 Engine Search and Recovery Team; Mandip Singh Soin, FI ’92; C. William Steele, FE ’79; George Basch, MN ’10; Edith A. Widder Ph.D., FN ’99; Michael E. Barth, MI ‘12 & Roy Chapman Andrews Centennial Expedition Team; Rob McCallum, MN ’09 & The Five Deeps Expedition Team; Steve Elkins, FN ’16; Dr. Nina Lanza, FN ’20, Dr. Olivier Gasnault, and the Curiosity Mars Rover ChemCam Engineering Team.

Pictured: 2020, 2021, and 2022 Citation of Merit Honorees Rob McCallum, Steve Elkins, and Nina Lanza




The Tenzing Norgay Award is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated exceptional mountaineering in the spirit of the famed sherpa Tenzing Norgay, who, along with Sir Edmund Hillary, summited Mount Everest in 1953.

Previous recipients include: Sharon Wood, Norman G. Dhyrenfurth, Apa Sherpa, Peter Athans, Peter E. Hillary, Chhiring Dorje Sherpa, Pasang Lhamu Sherpa.

Pictured: 2017 Tenzing Norgay Awardee Pasang Lhamu Sherpa




The New Explorer Award is granted to inspiring young explorers, in the fields of physical, biological, and natural sciences, engineering, and resource conservation, whose work of exploration serves to broaden knowledge of all.

Previous recipients include: Sophie Hollingsworth FI’14, Gino Caspari LF’15 & Trevor Wallace MN’13, Ian Mangiardi MR’12, Shahriar Caesar Rahman.

Pictured: 2017 New Explorer Awardee Sophie Hollingsworth presenting the 2019 Award to Ian Mangiardi





The Explorers Club Awards are intended to celebrate excellence and, except for the Sweeney Medal, are not solely limited to Explorers Club members.

You will be required to provide:

  • Contact details for yourself, and the individual(s) you nominate
  • A statement of no more than 1,000 words (about 2 pages) outlining why you believe the award is deserved
  • A CV or list of achievements for the nominee

Note: Please do not include more than two web links to supporting materials (e.g. video, photos, personal websites, etc.)

The deadline for nominations is December 15, 2022 at 5:00 PM EST.