Forgot your password? | Register Here

The Lowell Thomas Award

The Lowell Thomas Award was awarded for the first time on the occasion of the Club’s 75th anniversary, October 17, 1980, by Club President Charles F. Brush. On special occasions this award is presented by the President of The Explorers Club to groups of outstanding explorers. The achievements of each individual recipient contribute special distinction to the other recipients.

General Exploration: The First Lowells

——  1980

Kris Anderson
Maxie Anderson
Isaac Asimov
Sylvia A. Earle
Edgar D. Mitchell
Dan Rather
J. Louis Reynolds
Carl Sagan
Henry W. Taft
Lowell Thomas

Deepwater Exploration

——  1986

Robert D. Ballard
George F. Bass
Eugenie Clark
Clive E. Cussler
Andre Galerne
Peter R. Gimbel
Ian G. Koblick
Emory K. Kristof
R. Duncan Mathewson, III
Jean-Louis Michel
Dimitri Rebikoff
Don Walsh

Space Exploration

——  1989

Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin, Jr.
M. Scott Carpenter
Michael Collins
Charles (Pete) Conrad, Jr.
James A. Lovell
Walter M. Schirra, Jr.
Kathryn D. Sullivan

Arctic Submarine Exploration

——  1997

Capt. William R. Anderson
VADM James Calvert
Waldo K. Lyon
John H. Nicholson
George P. Steele

Balloon Exploration

——  March 1999

Donald Cameron
Brian Jones
Bertrand Piccard

Pioneering Women of Space

——  December 1999

Mary L. Cleave
Bonnie J. Dunbar
Mae C. Jemison
Tamara E. Jernigan
M. Rhea Seddon
Kathryn D. Sullivan
Kathryn R.C. Thornton

Ocean Exploration

——  2000

Rita R. Colwell
Jean-Michel Cousteau
David Doubilet
Evelyn J. Fields
Alfred Scott McLaren
Theophil “Phil” Nuytten
Sir John Rawlins
Andreas B. Rechnitzer
Anatoly Sagalevitch
Lawrence A. Shumaker
Edward B. “Teddy” Tucker
Ralph B. White


——  2001

Sir Edmund P. Hillary
Edward Viesturs
Barbara Washburn
H. Bradford Washburn, Jr.
Krzysztof S. Wielicki

The Storytellers

——  2002

Wade Davis
Jerri L. Nielsen
Chris Rainier
Simon Winchester

The Future of Exploration: A Global Challenge

——  2003

Brent Bishop
Bjørn Heyerdahl
Peter E. Hillary
Louise Leakey
Scott Lindgren
David Stuart

Champions of Conservation

——  2004

William A. Burnham
Gary C. Comer
Stefanie Powers
Alan Rabinowitz
Edward O. Wilson

Digging Into the Past to Benefit the Future

——  2005

Larry D. Agenbroad
Barry L. Clifford
Michael J. Novacek
Richard B. Potts
Patricia Sutherland

Discoveries in the Treetops

——  2006

M. Soubadra Devy
Francis Hallé
Margaret D. Lowman
Mark W. Moffett
Brian A. Rosborough

Exploring Climate Change

——  2007

Richard A. Feely
W. Berry Lyons
Paul A. Mayewski
Julie M. Palais
Adam Ravetch
Sarah Robertson
Susan Solomon
William R. Steger

Exploring Earth From Above

——  2008

William A. Anders
Leroy Chiao
John King & Martha R. King
Scott E. Parazynski
Dick H. Smith
Charles E. Yeager

Exploring Risk

——  2009

Bob A. Barth
Yvon Chouinard
Kenneth M. Kamler
Arthur D. Mortvedt
James M. Williams
Richard B. Wilson

Exploring Extinction

——  2010

Carol A. Beckwith
Linda T. Elkins-Tanton
Angela M. Fisher
John N. Hare
Curt S. Jenner
Micheline-Nicole M. Jenner
Peter C. Keller
Ian B. G. Mackenzie
Laurie L. Marker
Nancy L. Sullivan

Exploring the World’s Greatest Mysteries

——  2011

Claudio P. Cristino
Edmundo R. Edwards
Thomas E. Levy
Albert Yu-Min Lin
Brent S. Stewart
William C. Stone
Patricia Vargas
Kenneth R. Wright
Ruth M. Wright

Mindfulness: the Ultimate Tool in Exploration

——  2012

Sir David Attenborough
David Hempleman-Adams
William Thomas
Scott Wallace

Justice: Field Exploration as a Splendid Exchange

——  2013

S. Allen Counter
Lale Lubuko and John Rowe
Enric Sala
Martha Talbot
Ted Turner

Imagination in Exploration

——  2014

Sheldon Breiner
G. Chris Fischer
David G. Gallo
Rosaly M.C. Lopes
Frederik D.A. Paulsen
Edward P. Roski Jr.

Visionaries of Conservation: Paradigm Shifts in Protecting the Planet

——  2015

Mark Edward Hay
Robert Glenn Ketchum
Federico M. Lauro
George Van Nostrand Powell
Anne Savage
Gary A. Strobel

Celebrating the Legacy of Open Spaces

——  2016

Laly Lichtenfeld
Rick Ridgeway
Kristine McDivitt Tompkins
Martin von Hildebrand

The Changing Face of the Arctic

——  2017

HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco
Donn Haglund
Martin T. Nweeia
Konrad Steffen

Back to top
The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste