Forgot your password? | Register Here

The Tenzing Norgay Award

The Tenzing Norgay Award is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional mountaineering in the spirit of the famed sherpa Tenzing Norgay, one of the two first men to summit Mount Everest in 1953.

1987 - Sharon Wood
1988 - Norman G. Dhyrenfurth
2000 - Apa Sherpa
2005 - Peter Athans
2009 - Peter E. Hillary
2013 - Chhiring Dorje Sherpa

  • RT @MontereyAq: WOAH. Gargantuan Sunfish Dwarfs Divers In Stupefying Video: @dodo
    2 hours ago
  • RT @MontereyAq: It's a giant! Our giant clam has quadrupled in size since 2007. Learn how they feed:…
    2 hours ago
  • Whether it's for your next #expedition or #BackToSchool essentials,@FjallravenNYC now offers 15% OFF to TEC Members!
    4 hours ago
  • Thigh Bone on Mars? It's Just a Weird Rock, NASA Says… #mars #space #spaceexploration #exploration #science
    4 hours ago
  • Everest expedition provides first evidence of effects of altitude on blood pressure…
    18 hours ago
  • Back to top
    The Explorers Club is a not-for-profit organization as defined under Section 170(b) (I) (A) (vi) and 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Explorers Club ®, World Center for Exploration ®, The Flag and the Seal are registered trademarks of The Explorers Club. Use by others is strictly prohibited. Photographs appearing on this website are used by permission and may not be copied or re-used in any manner.

    Background image photography courtesy of members Christoph Baumer, Neil Laughton, Matt Harris and Don Walsh's image of the Bathyscape Trieste